Taco Bell Live Más Summer of Connection

Sruthi Kurada

Sruthi Kurada

· 3 min read
Group of friends from the Live Más Conference from left to right: myself, Sanjana, Adityaa, Zara, Sanjitha, Aakriti, Umaang, Pranav, Ayushi

I knew the Taco Bell Summer of Connection conference would be magical from the moment I stepped off the plane. I was greeted by Taco Bell volunteers and other scholars with the biggest smiles, even though they had been there for hours. Within the first few minutes, I met scholars from Boston, Kansas, Florida, and Texas, and I’d already forgotten about waking up at 4 AM and taking a 6 hr flight.

The next 3 and half days were a blur - I’ve probably never been more energetic but sleep deprived. We heard from incredible speakers like the amazing Kevin Carol (who’s from Philly!!); Mark King, CEO of Taco Bell; and Jamira Burley, in addition to all of the amazing workshop hosts who spoke on topics ranging from creating a financially independent future (SO Jasmine Paul) to how to make the best salsa and guacamole at the Fiesta Dip Battle! The Taco Bell team even took us to Belmont Park, home of the 10th oldest rollercoaster in the US. Side note: I could definitely tell; I’ve never felt each one piece of my spinal cord until that drop at the top of the rollercoaster.

I can’t put into words the love I have for the friends I’ve been so lucky to meet through Taco Bell’s Live Más Scholarship. Their electric passion for their craft never fails to inspire me, but their constant support, love, and their energy that shines bright make them some of my closest friends. From late-night scooter rides around Balboa Park, finding an abandoned piano outside an art studio, to 1 AM In-N-Out runs, I’ll miss the spontaneous energy of San Diego that feels like a memory in a bottle even though it's only been a couple of days since we’ve said our goodbyes.

Most importantly, I can’t forget to thank the amazing team who puts their soul into organizing these events and awarding life-changing scholarships. To @Marissa Lara, @Andrew German, @Daniel Horgan, @Mike Nemeth, and the hundreds more behind the scenes at the TacoBell Foundation, thank you so much from the bottom of all our hearts. You’ve truly created a once-in-a-lifetime experience for all of us. Here’s to flying out a million scholars to San Diego!

To anyone who wants to join an amazing community of scholars worldwide, please apply to the scholarship. All you need to do is submit a 2-minute video sharing your passion. If you have any questions, drop me a message — I want to help you join a magical community that has changed so many lives already.

I can’t wait to run it back for year 3

Love,

Sruthi

ImageImageImageImage
Sruthi Kurada

About Sruthi Kurada

Hi, I'm Sruthi Kurada - a rising sophomore at the University of Pennsylvania studying computer science and healthcare management in the Management and Technology Program. I'm an entrepreneur passionate about building technology that revolutionizes the healthcare system and improves patients' lives.

Sruthi Kurada